FOIS History

The FOIS conference series began with the first meeting in Trento, Italy, in June 1998. A second meeting followed in 2001 (Ogunquit, Maine, USA), and a third in 2004 (Torino, Italy).

Subsequent FOIS conferences include:

  • 4th FOIS conference: 2006 (Baltimore, MD, USA)
  • 5th FOIS conference: 2008 (Saarbrücken, Germany)
  • 6th FOIS conference: 2010 (Toronto, Canada) 
  • 7th FOIS conference: 2012 (Graz, Austria)
  • 8th FOIS conference: 2014 (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
  • 9th FOIS conference: 2016 (Annecy, France)
  • 10th FOIS conference: 2018 (Cape Town, South Africa)
  • 11th FOIS conference: 2020 (physical conference cancelled due to pandemic)
  • 12th FOIS conference: 2021 (Bozen-Bolzano, Italy; hybrid event due to pandemic)
  • 13th FOIS conference: 2023 (Sherbrooke, Qc, Canada)
  • 14th FOIS conference: 2024 (Enschede, Netherlands)

Further information about each edition of FOIS is available from the corresponding link.